Thomas Cook 借助 Magnolia 发展线上旅游平台

自 2020 年上线以来,Thomas Cook 借助 Magnolia 发展其数字业务,创建了超过 1000 页的线上内容。

领域

旅游观光

国家

英国

Thomas Cook 正在改变线上旅游业

Thomas Cook 是一家领先的在线旅游企业,拥有强大的品牌。Thomas Cook 着眼于旅游度假、城市度假和酒店度假,需要一个能够反映其对数字服务的坚定投入,并为其不断增长的在线客户群提供完美的客户体验的 CMS。这些正是 Magnolia 的强项。

挑战

海量内容

该项目于 2020 年 3 月启动,重点是在紧迫的项目时间内搭建一个线上旅游平台。一方面是由于旅游行业业务中断的敏感因素,另一方面也是对业务高峰期(通常是在年底)做好准备。要在同年 9 月上线意味着一个紧迫项目交付时间表(5 个月),但也为该品牌提供了获得成功的最佳机会。尽管它是一家新兴公司,Thomas Cook 仍有超过一千页的预编写 Web 内容需要在其新站点中分发。

在没有固定内容团队的情况下,Thomas Cook 能够快速高效地将海量的信息上传到新站点的基础设施中,这一点至关重要。内容还需要与 Thomas Cook 网站的外观相匹配,而不必重新编码或构建。

除了这一挑战之外,该品牌还需要保持灵活性,保持针对新环境重新定位内容的能力,比如将内容分发到额外的着陆页面或未来的移动应用程序。成本、效率和速度也将是网站上线的关键。

解决方案

灵活的 CMS

为了克服这些挑战,Thomas Cook 向 Magnolia 寻求帮助,使用其基于云的 CMS 管理公司的新网站并确保创建了有效的内容模型,并快速高效地上传了全部 1000 页的旧内容。

灵活的内容管理

Magnolia 的 CMS 系统拥有比纯粹的 SaaS 系统多 80% 的功能,使得内容交付变得更加容易。对于 Thomas Cook 来说,这意味着提供一个可以将内容整合为单一内容应用程序的平台,而不是停留在单个的登录页面上。通过这种灵活的方式,这家旅行服务供应商能够构建一个全新的模板和页面结构,既可以反映 Thomas Cook 的品牌,同时可以将现有材料以最小人工干预的方式从中心内容池中提取出来。

CMS 这种基于云的特性也让 Thomas Cook 可以立即开展新站点的工作,而无需建设自己的内部基础设施。这为企业节省了大量时间,确保了项目的如期完成,也确保了 Thomas Cook 站点的及时上线。

连接和 API

除了核心的 CMS 之外,Thomas Cook 能够连接到其他平台、应用和站点,这些同样至关重要。正是由于 Magnolia 的灵活性及其涵盖广泛的连接器,Thomas Cook 得以实现导入报价和差旅更新等外部内容。通过各种 API,Thomas Cook 现在可以确保使其客户从网站的各个站点获取最新的信息和最优惠的价格。这不仅使客户体验更具动态性,也为未来的机会提供了支持。

出色的客户支持

拥有一个小型开发团队的 Thomas Cook,选择 Magnolia 是看中了它的成本、可靠性和出色的客户支持。在签约新的 CMS 之前,Thomas Cook 的团队每天都会收到来自 Magnolia 的沟通信息,其中包括培训、最佳实践建议和关于平台的定期沟通检查。作为该品牌的直接合作伙伴,Magnolia 帮助 Thomas Cook 整理了 1000 多页的内容,并确定了在新站点上展示和分发这些内容的最佳技术。

结果

数字优先品牌

借助 Magnolia,Thomas Cook 可以在六个月内推出一个灵活而可靠的旅行站点

Thomas Cook 仅与一位设计师、两名开发人员和一个小型内容团队合作,就成功地转移了全部 1000 页内容,并将其转换为内容应用程序,可在任何渠道、着陆页面或平台上使用。

现在,借助 Magnolia 灵活的 CMS,Thomas Cook 可以很好地扩展其数字产品,在移动和其他数字渠道上推广内容,并支持更大的个性化和跨渠道营销活动。

集成 Magnolia 后,Thomas Cook 能够以创纪录的时间启动其全新在线业务,在发布当天吸引了超过 12 万名访客。借助 CMS,目前 90% 的内容和目标页面也可以通过内容应用(而不是页面)进行访问

在签订合同之前我们得到了非常高水平的支持服务。随着项目的发展,事实上我们已经很难找到可以问 Magnolia 支持团队的问题了。他们在培训我们的内部团队方面做得非常出色,让我们很快都成为了专家!
Ryan Cotton

Ryan Cotton

Thomas Cook 市场营销主管

Magnolia 提供了非常有效的流程,它吸收了大量内容并将其放到具有全新布局和视觉的新网站上,这几乎不需要任何人工操作,也不需要我们承担任何繁重的工作。
Ryan Cotton

Ryan Cotton

Thomas Cook 市场营销主管

/

发现木兰的相关功能

所有功能
数字资产管理系统(DAM)

无论是使用 Magnolia 自带的 DAM 还是连接外部的 DAM 系统,您都可以从 Magnolia CMS 中轻松创建、组织、检索和使用图片、视频和音频等数字资产。

数字资产管理系统(DAM)
线上活动管理

在同一个平台中创建和管理所有线上渠道的市场活动,而无需 IT 的协助或修改任何代码。

线上活动管理
前后端分离的 CMS

在同一个系统内管理内容,并发布到包括APP和网站在内的所有渠道中。了解 Magnolia 前后端分离系统的优势 - 无需牺牲创作体验和企业级功能。

前后端分离的 CMS

了解 Magnolia 可以为您的企业做些什么

请求根据您的业务需求量身定制的个人演示。

Thomas Cook launches digital-first travel business with Magnolia

Following its launch in 2020, Thomas Cook approached Magnolia to sit at the heart of its digital presence, supporting the creation of over 1000 pages of content online.

Sector

Hospitality & Travel

Country

United Kingdom

Thomas Cook, changing the digital travel & tourism industry.

Thomas Cook is a leading online travel business with a strong brand. With a focus on package holidays, city breaks and hotels, Thomas Cook needed a CMS that would reflect its strong commitment to digital service and provide the best possible experience for its growing online customer base. That’s where Magnolia comes in.

The Challenge

A mountain of content

Initiating the project in March 2020, the focus was around launching a full online travel agency in very tight timelines. There was both an element of sensitivity with the travel industry disruptions but also a need to be fully transactional and ready for peak trading periods (typically towards the end of the year). Launching in September represented a very fast project delivery timeline (5 months) but set the brand up for its best opportunity for success. Despite its status as a new start-up, Thomas Cook had over a thousand pages of pre-written web content that needed to be distributed across its new site. 

Working without a set content team, it was vital that Thomas Cook was able to upload this mountain of information onto its new site infrastructure quickly and efficiently. Content would also need to match the look and feel of Thomas Cook’s website, without having to be rewritten or restructured.

In addition to this challenge, the brand also needed to remain flexible, retaining the ability to repurpose content for new environments, such as distributing to additional landing pages or future mobile apps. Cost, efficiency and speed would all also be key for the launch.

The Solution

A flexible CMS

To overcome these challenges, Thomas Cook approached Magnolia, using its cloud-based CMS to manage the company’s new website and to ensure an efficient content model was created, and that all 1000 pages of legacy content were uploaded quickly and efficiently.

Flexible content management

With 80% more features than pure SaaS systems, Magnolia’s CMS makes content delivery easy. For Thomas Cook, this meant providing a platform through which content could be collated into a single content app, rather than sitting on individual landing pages. Through this flexible approach, the travel provider was able to build a completely new template and page structure that reflected the Thomas Cook brand, while pulling in existing materials from a central content pool with minimal manual intervention. 

The cloud-based nature of this CMS also allowed Thomas Cook to start working on its new site immediately, without having to build its own internal infrastructure. This saved the company significant time, ensuring that the project kept to its strict deadlines and that the Thomas Cook site was live in time for the company’s launch.

Connections and APIs

In addition to the core CMS, it was vital that Thomas Cook could connect to other platforms, applications and sites. Thanks to the flexible nature of Magnolia, along with its wide range of connectors, Thomas Cook was able to pull in external content such as offers and travel updates. Through various APIs, Thomas Cook can now ensure that its customers receive the very latest information and get the very best deals from sites all around the web. This makes the experience so much more dynamic and supports future opportunities.

Exceptional customer support

Working with a small developer team, Thomas Cook selected Magnolia for its cost, reliability and its exceptional customer support. Before signing up for the new CMS, Thomas Cook’s team received daily communication from Magnolia, including education, best practice advice and regular scheduled communications check-ins about the platform. By working as a direct partner to the brand, Magnolia was able to help Thomas Cook sort through its 1000+ pages of content and establish what the best technology would be for displaying and distributing them across the new site.

The Result

A digital-first brand

With Magnolia, Thomas Cook has been able to launch a flexible and reliable travel site in under six months.

Working with only one designer, two developers and a small content team, Thomas Cook also successfully transferred all 1000 pages of content, transitioning them into a content app for use across any channel, landing page or platform.

Now, with Magnolia’s flexible CMS in place, Thomas Cook is well positioned to expand its digital offering in future, promoting content across mobile and other digital channels as well as supporting greater personalization and cross-channel marketing campaigns.

Following the implementation of Magnolia, Thomas Cook was able to launch its new online presence in record time, with over 120,000 visitors on launch day. Thanks to the CMS, 90% of all content and destination pages are also now available via a content app, rather than on page.

The level of support we got before signing the contract was fantastic. Then, as the project evolved, we actually struggled to find things to ask the Magnolia support team. They did such a fantastic job of training our own internal team, that we quickly became experts ourselves!
Ryan Cotton

Ryan Cotton

Head of Marketing, Thomas Cook

Magnolia provided a very efficient process, taking such a significant amount of content and putting it on a new website with a complete new layout and look and feel — all with virtually no manual effort or heavy lifting from our side.
Ryan Cotton

Ryan Cotton

Head of Marketing, Thomas Cook

/

Related Magnolia Features

All Features
Digital Asset Management (DAM)

Easily create, organize, and retrieve your digital assets from within the CMS — whether you use the out of the box capabilities or connect your own external DAM system.

Digital Asset Management
Omnichannel Campaigns

Create and manage the entire customer experience of a targeted campaign in one place, without touching any code.

Campaign Management
Headless CMS

Manage content in one hub and reuse it across the web and all your channels. See why Magnolia is great for headless—no need to sacrifice authoring experience and enterprise features.

Headless CMS

Find out what Magnolia can do for you

Request a personal demo tailored to your business needs.

Magnolia Demo request