Magnolia Stories 应用程序使 Voetbal International 焕发新的生机

荷兰历史最悠久的足球杂志如何使用 Magnolia 混合无头模式提高发布速度并创造更多收益

logo-voetbalinternational-440x280px-2017-12.png

行业
媒体&出版

国家/地区
荷兰

实施方
info.nl

网址
vi.nl

针对这个问题,Voetbal International (VI) 的 IT 主管兼产品负责人 Mathijs Kraai 作出了如下解释:

“作为一家拥有雄心与梦想的出版商,要寻找到适合我们的数字平台产品真不是一件容易的事。我们的要求包括能够处理高峰流量、提供优化极佳的编辑工作流、进行极为繁杂的个性化设置以及方便开发人员上手。

在意识到开箱即用型产品不可能给予我们完美的 CMS 解决方案的时候,我们很快就接受了 Magnolia 的集成平台理念。Magnolia 能够给予我们适当的工具,从而使我们能够轻松自行构建和集成我们所需的内容。

问题的关键在于内容编辑界面。无论是需要立即发布突发新闻,还是需要提供涉及多种设计元素和微件的全方位阅读体验,Magnolia 的 Stories 应用程序都可以帮我们轻松实现。还有一点最让我们感到满意。所有内容结构都可以在其拥有的所有渠道和第三方之间完全重复使用。”

vinbanner2.jpg
挑战

与时间赛跑

发布体育、足球等领域的突发新闻有时会是一件非常残酷的事情。其中最关键的要求就是要使受众的关注度达到峰值。

“VI 的产品负责人 Mathijs Kraai 将其形容成一场与时间的赛跑。“尽管听起来有点夸张,但能够率先发布消息的出版商的确会获得全部的流量。”这意味着 CMS 必须易于使用,以便我们可以快速创作文章和其他内容。

高峰流量给出版商带来挑战。如果有重大突发新闻,编辑会向注册用户发送推送消息,然后在同一时间点,活跃用户的数量会增加十倍。内容缓慢或延迟都会严重影响用户体验。数字平台必须能够承受峰值负载,并在未来进行扩展。

VI 还想要个性化在线体验,反映内容偏好,以提高读者忠诚度和参与度。

viscreenshot.png
解决方案

界面友好、可满足未来需求的内容管理

VI 及其实施方案合作伙伴 info.nl 均选用了混合无头型 Magnolia CMS:两款系统均采用 Magnolia 传统的服务端渲染呈现方式,并引入了支持各种分发渠道的 REST API。新开发的应用程序可以直接连接到 CMS。 一旦出现新的渠道,CMS 可随时予以支持。

Info.nl 凭借 Magnolia 为 VI 提供了界面友好、可满足未来需求的内容管理。Magnolia 的 Stories 应用程序便于进行自定义设置,以适应 VI 编辑人员的偏好,从而帮助他们以最快的方式制作、策划和分发内容。与其他 CMS 创作界面不同的是,编辑人员可以自由控制工作体验,而不仅限于在字段中填入各项内容。例如,他们可以对故事中的所有元素进行安排,其中包括图像,甚至包括付费墙在文章中的位置。

在重新设计新网站之前,VI 曾使用过付费墙,该付费墙会排除(部分)非付费读者。新结构支持创建 VI PRO,其中的黑白付费墙已被替换为“先试后买”模式。这促使大量用户进入了 VI PRO 转化渠道:现在每个人均可以在收到订阅邀请之前免费阅读五篇 PRO 文章。现在,该平台可以使用之前的浏览模式来提供个性化的内容建议。这使得更多访问者能够接触到优质内容,并使部分用户有机会从计量模式转化为付费 PRO 订阅。

成果

更快的发布速度,更多的新增读者

2017 年 4 月推出网站和移动应用程序后不久,VI 宣布首战告捷。直到现在,在通过将通知推送到应用程序的方式发布和分发新闻以及匹配报告方面,VI 仍然遥遥领先。该平台还可应对各种高峰期所带来的高负荷。

商业实效是更值得注意的问题。PRO 内容受欢迎的程度与日俱增,其页面浏览量增加了 35%,每周注册的新帐户达到 3,000 个左右,且订阅数量也在不断增长。其中有一篇关于荷兰国家足球队教练近期任命的文章大受欢迎,其阅读量达到 130,000 次,并直接吸引了 2,600 名新用户注册。

新平台一经推出就达到了以下效果:

  • 提升整体流量并增加网站停留时间
  • 帐户注册量和数字订阅数量不断攀升
  • 编辑和开发人员可以享受到更大的工作乐趣
  • 面对高峰流量表现更佳
  • 有效提升新闻的发布和分发速度
viarticle.png

Magnolia Stories app kicks new life into Voetbal International

How the oldest football magazine in the Netherlands used Magnolia in hybrid headless mode to publish fast and win more revenue

Industry
Media & Publishing

Country
Netherlands

Implemented by
info.nl

Site
vi.nl

Mathijs Kraai, head of IT and product owner at Voetball International (VI) explains:

“As a publisher with big dreams and ambitions, it was not easy to find the right product for our digital platform. Our requirements included handling peak traffic, super-optimized editorial workflows, heavy personalization, all the while being developer-friendly.

Upon realizing that the perfect CMS does not exist out of the box, we quickly warmed up to Magnolia’s integration platform philosophy. It provides us with the tools we need to simply build and integrate exactly what we need ourselves.

The missing piece of the puzzle was a content editing interface. Whether it’s breaking news that needs to be published right this second, or a full-fledged reading experience with a multitude of design elements and widgets, Magnolia’s Stories app now provides it all. And the best part? All content is structured in a way that makes it completely re-usable across all of our channels and beyond to third parties.”

What VI likes most about the Stories app

Creative freedom

An interface free from the rigidity of creating content in 'forms'.

Easy integration

Easy integration with third-party services, such as live blog and references to sports data, like match results, team information, etc.

Custom workflows

Custom publication actions that, for example, trigger push notifications, thus delivering content to people's phones faster than competitors.

Flexible editing

Paywall block that allows editors to position a paywall in exactly the right place to converst users when they are most ready for it.

Structured content

Structured content that allows for (paid)syndication, easy creation of RSS feeds, REST APIs.

Fast publishing

Super quick development of new blocks = happy developers, happy editors

Super-quick publishing, full editorial freedom to create rich reading experiences, re-using content across all of our channels - Magnolia’s Stories app helps us to do all this successfully.

The right tools for digital publishing

VI wanted to personalize the online experience, to reflect content preferences in order to increase reader loyalty and engagement.

The challenge

A race against the clock

Publishing breaking news, like sports and football, can be brutal. A key requirement is the ability to peak.

“It’s a race against the clock,” says VI’s Product Owner, Mathijs Kraai. “A bit exaggerated, but the publisher that is first to publish the news gets all the traffic.” This means that a CMS has to be easy to use, to enable the fast creation of articles and other content.

Peaks bring challenges for publishers. If there is big, breaking news, an editor sends a push message to registered users, then in one go, the number of active users increases tenfold. If content is slow or delayed, the user experience suffers. A digital platform has to be able to take on peak loads and to scale this in the future.

VI also wanted to personalize the online experience, to reflect content preferences in order to increase reader loyalty and engagement.

Magnolia's Stories app was easily customised to fit in with how VI editors prefer to make, curate and distribute content in the fastest way.

The solution

Content management that's future-proof and user-friendly

VI and its implementation partner, info.nl, chose to use Magnolia CMS in a hybrid headless fashion: both using Magnolia’s traditional server-side rendering, and exposing REST APIs that serve all kinds of distribution channels. New apps were developed that are directly connected to the CMS. When new channels appear, the CMS is ready for them.

Info.nl used Magnolia to make VI’s content management future-proof and user-friendly. Magnolia’s Stories app was easily customized to fit in with how VI editors prefer to make, curate and distribute content in the fastest way. In contrast to other CMS authoring interfaces, editors are free to control the experience, not just fill content in fields. For example, they can arrange all elements of a story, including images and even where the paywall appears in an article.

Before the redesign of the new site, VI had worked with a paywall that excluded (in part) non-paying readers. The new structure enabled it to create VI PRO, where the black-and-white paywall has been replaced with a 'try before you buy' model. This is driving large numbers of users into the VI PRO conversion funnel: everyone can now read five PRO articles free of charge before receiving a subscription offer. Using previous surfing patterns, the platform now makes personalized content suggestions. This brings even more visitors into contact with premium content and opens up opportunities for some to be converted via the metered model to a paid PRO subscription.

This popular VI Pro got in 130,000 views and 2,600 new users.

The result

Fast publishing, more readers

Shortly after the launch of the site and mobile apps in April 2017, VI saw the first successes. VI is now consistently the first to publish and distribute news and match reports via push notifications to the apps. The platform also coped with the high loads of all kinds of peak periods.

More noteworthy is the commercial effect. PRO content is more popular than ever with a 35% increase in page views, close to 3,000 new account registrations per week and growing subscription numbers. One of the most popular articles on the near-appointment of the Dutch national football coach was read 130,000 times and led to 2,600 new users signing up.

Since going live, the new platform achieved:

  • Better overall traffic and increased time on site
  • Growing account registrations and digital subscription numbers
  • Improved editor and developer happiness
  • Better performance during peak traffic
  • Much quicker publication and distribution of news

With the release of the Stories app, Swiss-based software vendor Magnolia takes a big step towards truly reducing clutter, radically shortening the time to publish and simplifying the content production and publishing experience.